ResearchED Sydney – A Preview

If you are going to be in or around Sydney on Saturday 21st February then you really have no excuse but to get yourself along to researchED. This is an educational research conference run by teachers for teachers on a not-for-profit basis. It takes place on the weekend so that you can get yourselves along without missing classes or having to ask for time off and the cost is kept to a minimum. ResearchED started out in the UK with sell-out events and is now a global phenomenon with conferences in Brooklyn and Sydney. A link to the Sydney conference and ticket information is below:

http://www.workingoutwhatworks.com/en-GB/News/2014/11/rED-n-sydney-11-2014

The speakers are going to set things alight with controversy, good sense and fascinating insights in abundance.

However, it has occurred to me that some forward-looking schools might be prepared to fund their teachers to attend. If your school is anything like mine then you probably need to fill in a form stating what you hope to learn. Although the list of speakers is impressive, it might help your cause if you can pinpoint exactly what some of the sessions will address.

To this end, I offer the objectives of the session that I will be running. I will be talking about cognitive load theory. Specifically:

1. What is cognitive load theory?

2. How can it help us make decisions about teaching?

This will be from a teacher’s perspective because I am not a researcher and so I will try to be light on jargon. I will give examples from my own experience and I hope to do two things that are sometimes missing from such presentations; I will support my assertions with evidence and I will claim that an appreciation of CLT can lead to marginal gains rather than suggesting that it is some kind of magic bullet.

Hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

